Vimshottari Dasha

Knowing the Dasha in which you are placed at any given point in your life is knowing what is happening and what is to happen for the rest of you life.

The Vimshottari Dasha, is considered to be the first and most accurate in Vedic astrology, is considered to be of 120 years, in which all the nine planets have a special Dasha period. This is a Nakshatra based dasha i.e. the Nakshatra in which the Moon is situated at the time of birth, the birth Mahadasha of the lord planet of that Nakshatra is received by the person at the time of birth and in the same way the Dasha sequence proceeds. If a person is born in Kritika, Poorvashadha or Poorva Phalguni Nakshatra, then the Sun/Surya Dev is the lord of all these three Nakshatras, then that person will go through the Mahadasha of the Sun at the time of birth. Given below is the list of the asha period of all the planets, then it is as follows:

Mahadasha of Sun – 6 years

Mahadasha of Moon – 10 years

Mahadasha of Mars – 7 years

Mahadasha of Rahu – 18 years

Mahadasha of Jupiter – 16 years

Mahadasha of Saturn – 19 years

Mahadasha of Mercury – 17 years

Mahadasha of Ketu – 7 years

Mahadasha of Venus – 20 years

The order of Mahadashas is as per above Dasha description i.e. if a person is born in Punarvasu Nakshatra which is the Nakshatra of Jupiter, then that person will get Mahadasha of Jupiter at the time of birth and post that Mahadasha of Saturn will start. 

The Mahadasha of Rahu will be the final dasha according to the Mahadasha and it’s period increases by 120 years in this sequence.

When we move forward in the Vimshottari Mahadasha system, then after the Mahadasha, the next Dasha which comes forth is Antardasha, then Pratyantar Dasha, then Suksham Dasha and then Prana Dasha. In the Mahadasha of any planet, the first Antardasha belongs to that planet and the first Pratyantar Dasha in the Antardasha of any planet is also similar. Similarly, in the Mahadasha of one planet, the Antar dashas of all the other planets also manifest their effects. 

As mentioned above, the Nakshatra in which the Moon is posited, the lord of that Nakshatra gets the mahadasha but like if the Mahadasha of the sun is of 6 years, then every person will go through the Mahadasha of the Sun not only for 6 years but also for the Moon. The Dasha period is determined according to the Bhogansh(time period) in that Nakshatra.

Planets have great importance in our life and their effect is visible to us in the form of their Dashas. Surya Dev or the Sun is considered to be the factor of soul and the Moon is considered to be the factor of mind. If Mars is the planet that provides strength in life, then Mercury provides intelligence. Gurudev or Jupiter is the factor of life, Shukra Dev is the factor of passion, intimacy and Shani Dev is the factor of age. This is the reason that when it comes to the results of the Mahadashas of the planets, the factors of these planets should also be taken into account and the results should be stated keeping in mind the time and situation of the country.

Because of the influence of this Dasha, the position of the planet itself is the most important. If the planet is exalted, it gives respect to the person. On the other hand, being in an inauspicious position leads to physical problems, mental stress, financial loss and many types of problems. It is necessary to see in which Nakshatra this person was born, in which position the lord of that Nakshatra is from the Dasha lord planet constellation. If he is a close friend or an acquaintance, he gives very good results, but if he is an extreme enemy, he does not shy away from giving bad results.

Leave a Reply