You are currently viewing Vedic Astrology is an important part of the ancient scriptural texts of India

Vedic Astrology is an important part of the ancient scriptural texts of India

Jyotishacharya Shastri Pundit Roshan Singh  

Vedic Astrology, popularly known as Hindu astrology, is the fundamental form of astrology. Vedic Astrology is an important part of the ancient scriptural texts of India, known as Vedas that existed thousands of years ago and have been serving the society by that time. Vedas are the source of knowledge and has six main parts. Modern scientists are still amazed as to how the ancient seers and rishis were able to map out the sky without any modern equipment or telescopes. Hindu Vedic Astrology is the eyes of Vedas. In today’s world, Vedic Astrology is acknowledged as the most powerful & practiced astrology worldwide. 

One of my Guru’s under whom I have studied is Dr David Frawley of the American Institute of Vedic Studies. Today his has become one of the greatest and most well know astrologers in the world. India has honoured him with the title Pundit Vamandev Shastri. One’s personalised horoscope reading forms a perfect blue print that mirrors all the lifetime events well in advance which empowers the individual to plan one’s life and take remedial action well in advance to avert great adversities.   

For a personal reading call : 0716300834 to confirm an appointment or you may have an online reading by emailing  your name, date, place and time to :

Signs, Planets & Houses in Hindu Astrology 

As per Hindu astrology, there are twelve zodiac signs, nine planets and twelve houses. The twelve signs are distributed in the twelve houses and the placement of nine planets in different houses is done according to the birth time of a person. This type of distribution of the planets on the basics of time, place and date of birth, is termed as birth chart, natal chart or horoscope chart. A birth chart reflects the strength of a planet in the chart – its sign, house, aspects, house lordship and conjunctions. 

Dasha System: A Unique Methodology in Vedic Astrology 

As per the Dasha system, a theoretical longevity of a person is considered 120 years, divided into 9 main periods of 9 different planets: Sun (6 years), Moon (10 years), Mars (7 years), Rahu (18 years), Jupiter (16 years), Saturn (19 years), Mercury (17 years), Ketu (7 years) and Venus (20 years). Each major period is further divided into sub periods in the same ratio as the main periods. The sequence of the periods remains the same for every person, except for the starting point which is determined by the exact position of “Nakshatra” in degrees and minutes in the birth chart. “Nakshatra” or Birth star is the sign where moon is located at the time of the birth. Hence, Dasha system is unique for every person and one of the most significant ways of ensuring a better life ahead. 

Transit of Planets in Hindu Astrology 

Transit is another vital tool required to do a dynamic analysis of an individual’s birth chart. Planets are in constant motion. They change their position periodically. Some of the planets are fast moving like the Sun (1 month), Mercury (28 days), Mars (28 days) & the ever transiting Moon (2.5 days). Planets like Jupiter (1 year), Saturn (2.5 years) and Rahu & Ketu (1.5 years) are slow moving planets. Vedic astrology provides a clear picture of what a person can expect to experience during a planetary transit. 

Ashtakavarga: The Soul of Vedic Astrology 

Ashtakavarga is an important dimension of Hindu Astrology. Sage Parashar narrated this system of analyzing birth chart to his daughter, Gargi and is the last chapter of “Parashar Hora Shashtra”, where he clearly mentions that Ashtakavarga will be most useful for people during “Kalyug”. It is a highly developed system of studying horoscope, based on the relation between two planetary placements in an individual’s birth chart and is an effective tool for understanding the strength of a particular transiting planet. 

Purpose of Vedic Astrology 

The sole purpose of Vedic astrology is to make people aware about the upcoming probable events, challenges and opportunities in his / her life that can help them to ensure a better future for tomorrow. Vedic astrology gives a proper knowledge of future events is a powerful tool which helps in taking smarter decisions and be better equipped to handle things. It empowers a person to plan proactively, giving him better control on their life, progress and happiness. 

What are the changes that can come in your personal, professional and financial life according to your birth chart? What opportunities and challenges suggest your birth chart and horoscope chart? With Your Horoscope Chart, find out all about your personality, spiritual attributes, family and relationship. Get your Horoscope Chart Report today. 

In Layman language, Horoscope Chart or Birth chart signifies a study of your Zodiac sign (your unique signature), indicated position of various planets at exact date, time and place of your birth in terms of their longitude and latitude with respect to the 12 zodiac signs. Your Horoscope Chart is like a mirror to your own self and gives a glimpse of your future. Our Astrologers will prepare a report after thorough analysis of your birth chart & reveal a lot about health in whole life, physical & spiritual ability, marriage, relationships with family, friends, spouse, or partners, & professional life. Let your zodiac chart help you to explore what has been hidden for long.  

Whatever we do and get in life is the result of our actions and reactions. Astrologers believe that it’s your past Karmas, horoscope findings along with your interaction with outer world altogether decides your fate. Vedic Astrology with the help of astrology chart provides a roadmap to your inherent strengths, weaknesses and your ability to pursue goals as promised by your birth chart. Your detailed Report will tell how stars influence your life and their functionality in your day-to- day events. You can also find answer to your primary concern from any aspect of life in this report. Vedic Astrology also has its technology of astrological remedies and based on this principle, we will advice appropriate remedy to help you live a prosperous and happy life. 

Leave a Reply