You are currently viewing What is Panchak and what does one do if one dies in Panchak

What is Panchak and what does one do if one dies in Panchak

Dr (Pundit) Roshan Singh

Many religious scriptures, like the Garuda Purana, state that if someone dies at Panchak, five other members of his family will also die one after the other within 24 months. From our experience this has happened. Rog Panchaka, Raj Panchaka, Agni Panchaka, Mrityu Panchaka, and Chor Panchaka are the five types of Panchak.

What is Panchak?

There are 27 constellations in the sky. Panchak is the combination of the last five constellations – Dhanishta, Shatabhisha, Poorvabhadrapada, Uttarabhadrapada, and Revathi – of these 27 constellations.

The alignment of these five constellations is unlucky. If someone dies in the combination of these constellations, other members of the family must suffer death, according to ‘Muhurta Chintamani.’

The Moon constellations of Aquarius and Pisces, that is, the latter portion of Dhanishta, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapada, Uttara Bhadrapada, and Revati — these five constellations are known as Panchaka in astrology. Mars, the lord of Dhanishta, Rahu, the lord of Shatabhisha, Jupiter, the lord of Purvabhadrapada, Saturn, the lord of Uttarabhadrapada, and Mercury, the lord of Revati combine to form Panchak.

Panchak, which begins on Saturday, is the most dangerous. This is known as the death quintet.

In the Sanskrit, Panchak refers to a group of five.

The moon transits through the Panchak Nakshatras for about five days during Panchak Kaal.

Panchak Kaal is described as the five-day time when the moon is in the last two zodiac signs, Aquarius and Pisces, as the 27 Nakshatras are divided into twelve zodiac signs.

Auspicious acts such as marriage, housewarming, Nav Vadhu Pravesh, new construction, Upnayan Sanskar, and Mundan ritual are prohibited during Panchak Kaal, according to Hindu scriptures.

What is Panchak Death?

Panchak death refers to death during the Panchak period. Death in the Panchak Nakshatra, according to Hindu traditions, is exceedingly inauspicious and unpleasant.

Such a person will not be saved, and their soul will not be at rest. For the benefit of the family and relatives. It is thought that if someone dies during the Panchak Kaal, five members from the clan or family would die within the next 24 months.

Types of Panchak

According to Vedic astrology, there are five types of Panchak, each of which is based on Var (days).

Mrityu Panchak:

It’s called Mrityu Panchak if it starts on a Saturday (death). Marriage and the beginning of any major event should be avoided.

Rog Panchak:

If Panchak begins on a Sunday, it is also considered bad and is referred to as Roga (diseases) Panchak. This is a bad time for your health. A person may be afflicted with long-term sickness.

Rajya Panchak:

It is considered inauspicious and termed as Rajya (kingdom) if it begins on a Monday. During this time, all government-related problems and employment changes are avoided.

Agni Panchak:

If Panchak begins on a Tuesday, it is referred to as Agni (fire) Panchak. Construction, moving to a new home, and employment involving machines should all be avoided.

Chor Panchak:

It is also considered unfavourable if it begins on a Friday, and is known as Chor (theft) Panchak. Travel, business, and financial operations should be avoided during this period of Panchak.

What do the Scriptures say about Panchak?

Dhanisht-Panchakam Grame Shadbhisha-Kulpanchakam.

Poorvabhadrapada-rathya: Chotara Grihapanchakam.

Revathi grambahyam cha etat panchak-laksnam.

धनिष्ठ-पंचकम ग्राम शद्भिषा-कुलपंचकम।

पूर्वाभाद्रपद-रथ: छोटा गृहपंचकम।

रेवती ग्रामभ्यं चा एतत पंचक-लक्षनाम।

Five categories of these five constellations from Dhanishtha to Revathi respectively.





Grambahya Panchak.

If there is a birth or death in Dhanishta, it is believed that there are five other births or deaths in that vicinity.

If it occurs in Shatabhisha, it occurs in the same clan; if it occurs in Purva, it occurs in the same locale; if it occurs in Uttara, it occurs in the same house; and if it occurs in Revati, it occurs in another town.

According to the belief, the birth of any individual in a constellation results in the birth of five children in the household, etc., and the death of any individual results in the death of five individuals.

The eight divisions of death are as follows: cause pain, sorrow, fear, shame, disease, sadness, humiliation, and death. This does not mean that five must die; five may suffer from disease, grief, or pain.

Remedies for Panchak

The Garuda Purana also has remedies for the individual who dies in Panchak. According to the Garuda Purana, one must seek the guidance of a trained scholar before executing the funeral rites of a deceased person in Panchak. The Pundit should be well versed in scripture and be able to chant the appropriate mantras with perfecton and above all be a devotee of the Lord following the four regulative principles of no meat eating, not taking alcohol, not indulge in gambling and not indulging in illicit sex life for the prayers to be done, received and accepted by the Lord.

If this job is carried out following the law, the crisis will be averted. Indeed, as per the Panditji’s directions, five effigies constructed of flour, gramme flour, or Rice flour with Kush are placed alongside of the deceased, one on either side of the arms, one on either side of the legs and one above the head which are burned with the same elaborate ceremonies as the deceased. This eliminates Panchak dosha. All of this should be done with full faith, love and devotion.

Second, the Garuda Purana states that if someone dies in Panchak, certain preparations should be performed.

To begin, cremation can be performed at the constellation’s centre by offering sacrifices from the constellation’s mantra. Sacrifices undertaken following the rules produce virtuous outcomes.

Vedic Remedies After Fifteen days of the Panchak Death

If no Panchak remedy is used at the time of death, the following Vedic rituals should be performed to remove the malefic effects of Panchak death.

These Panchak death cures should be conducted with the help of a priest or astrologer after fifteen days of Panchak death. Here are the Vedic rituals that must be followed.

When completing Vedic rituals for Panchak death, all family members should be present.

Shraadh Pooja and Pitru Tarpan Pooja should be performed at home. Five egg shaped balls made of Rice Flour and Kusha grass wrapped with white cotton are required for this Puja.

After that, Prana Prathistapana ceremonial ceremony should be done. This rite represents giving life to the pinda. Through the power and energy that is derived from the sacred mantras the pinda is given life and allows the soul to be released from bondage and achieve liberation.

The pinda should then be buried near a sacred lake or river in sand.

Leave a Reply